Homemade Oreo Cookies

25 Jun

I love oreo cookies!  I have always loved cookie sandwiches.  When I was a little girl, my friend Melissa and I would remove the filling from the cookies, eat the cookie and roll the filling into a ball and eat it very, very slowly.  We would savor every bite of the sweet filling.  We didn’t always eat oreo cookies, we did this with every brand of cookie that our parents bought.  Ever since I found out that I was allergic to soybeans, I have been on a quest to re-create some of my favorite processed foods with homemade recipes.

First I started with this homemade chocolate cookie, it is like a chocolate graham cracker and I bet it would make an awesome chocolate graham cracker pie crust too!  I intend on trying that one of these days!
Chocolate Graham Cracker Cookie

I sprinkled a little organic sugar on top of the dough before I baked them. These taste great by themselves and adding frosting to them just bumps this recipe up to fantastic!
I used this fair trade organic cocoa powder:
Organic Fair Trade Cocoa Powder
Now for the frosting, traditional oreo cookie filling is made with oil. I would like to try to make a filling with coconut oil the next time I make this recipe but all I had on hand was butter. So I made my classic vanilla buttercream frosting for the filling and ooohhh…they tasted so good!

Chocolate Graham Cracker Cookie Sandwich

My children went nuts over these cookies! These cookies tasted even better the next day! The first time I made these cookies, I used someone else’s recipe but they came out more like whoopie pies, soft but really good. This time I created my own recipe and they came out crisp and crunchy like an oreo cookie. These cookies certainly don’t taste exactly like oreo cookies, but I used organic fair trade ingredients. I’ll take these any day over the processed variety! I know exactly what is in them since I made them myself. The only drawback, if you want to call it that, is they don’t have a shelf life because I don’t use preservatives like store-bought cookies. They have to be eaten within 2-3 days, oh darn! In my house they didn’t last 2 days! In order to make the cookie dough last longer, I didn’t make them all on the same day. The dough keeps in the fridge for a few days so I baked a small batch every day until I ran out. This way, I don’t have to worry about them going stale, which I wouldn’t have to worry about that anyway, but it does save me from having to eat them all! I have so much fun with new recipes and this one is going in the cookbook, too!

Leave a Reply

