Homemade French Bread Pizza

27 Jun

I’ve been experimenting with homemade rolls.  I’m from the South Jersey/South Philly area, I live in Florida now and I can’t get the kind of rolls that are everywhere up North. After being inspired by a Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives episode, I decided to try again today. I used my basic pizza dough recipe with whole wheat flour, and made 2 loaves of bread with it. It was more like french bread than a hoagie roll, but I wanted to make french bread pizza anyway, so it worked out. After the bread came out of the oven I cut the rolls in half and then split them.
Homemade french bread

While the bread was baking I prepared the toppings:
Pizza toppings
I used fresh garlic, tomato sauce seasoned with basil and olive oil, pepperoni, mozzarella cheese, and green peppers. I also sprinkled the top of the cheese with oregano. There are many possible toppings for french bread pizza, pepperoni is my favorite.

French Bread Pizza, before baking
Once all the toppings are on, it is ready for the oven. Since the bread just came out of the oven, all I needed to do was broil the pizzas to melt the cheese and get the toppings cooked.  That took less than 10 minutes.

Here are the finished pizzas:
French Bread Pizza

French Bread Pizza
The fresh garlic gave the pizza such a wonderful flavor! I loved it! I better make sure to write this recipe down, it is definitely a keeper! The bread was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside and it didn’t come out really thick. It was actually on the thinner side, but it worked out perfect for pizza! I can’t wait to do this again!

Leave a Reply

