Ham and Bean Soup with Cornbread Muffins

30 Jun

Ok, so tonight I decided to make soup.  I love soup! Ham soup is very easy to make and it doesn’t really need many ingredients.  I start out with a simple mireproix, which is celery, carrots, and onion sauteed in the stock pot.  I also add fresh garlic because garlic makes most things taste better.  I cook the ham bone with the veggies to get it browned on all sides and then I add the beans and water.  I used dried navy beans that I soaked overnight and I added those to the pot.  The soup cooked for about 2 hours and then I served it with cornbread muffins.  I decided to experiment with the cornbread and I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose white flour.  I wasn’t sure if the kids would notice the difference and they didn’t! The cornmeal I used is an organic medium grind so it is not smooth and it gives the muffin a different texture.  They really liked them which is awesome!

Here is the soup:

 
Homemade Ham and Bean Soup

Cornbread Muffins tastes great with unsalted butter and honey…
Homemade Corn Muffin

My oldest two really liked the soup but unfortunately my younger 2 are a bit more picky. The baby ate all the ham and nothing else and my 5 year old only ate the muffin. The soup will be lunch tomorrow and then I will freeze the rest for a quick meal later. It’s weird to eat soup in the summertime in Florida, but it has been rainy and that puts me in the mood for soup!

Leave a Reply

