Libby’s Test Kitchen: Homemade Goldfish Crackers

11 Jul

So I got the idea to make these from another blog, Miss Anthropist’s Kitchen. I’m always trying to find ways to recreate store bought snacks from scratch, so I was looking forward to trying it.
This recipe is like pastry with cheese. I used my blender to process the ingredients because I don’t have a food processor, well actually I do have one but the blades were lost when we moved. 😦 The blender worked ok chopping the dry ingredients and I used my mixer to blend in the butter. The dough was simple to put together. Since I don’t have a tiny fish size cutter, I used a coupling piece from my decorating tips to cut out small circles.
Homemade Goldfish Crackers

My daughters helped place the little circles on the baking sheets. The recipe made almost 300 little crackers. I baked them in the oven and voila! Little cheddar crackers!
Homemade Goldfish Crackers
Right out of the oven they kinda tasted like little biscuits but as they cooled they became crunchy. They certainly taste like little cheddar crackers, but not really like the goldfish brand crackers. That is ok. These are perfect for snacking and without all the salt that are in boxed snacks. I used unsalted butter and I did not add any extra salt to them because the cheese has more than enough sodium for these crackers. My 4 kids finished about 100 crackers at snack time! It is hard to keep any homemade food in this house! I’m so glad that my kids love the taste of simple foods made from scratch. This could easily be made once a week to add variety to their snacktime. I will certainly make this again, maybe next time I’ll try different cheese. There are so many possibilities!

Leave a Reply

