Slow Cooked Beans, Brown Rice, and Sausage with Savory Cornbread

20 Jul

I am getting so much better with beans and rice.  I have been testing and adjusting my recipe over and over and this time I really nailed it!  I think the best flavor component to this recipe is the organic Applegate Farms Keilbasa sausage that I used.  It really added some wonderful flavors into the rice and beans that makes this recipe a keeper!  I no longer buy canned beans…I only use dried beans now and that gives me more control over salt content and flavor.  I soaked 1 cup of Great Northern beans overnight, although the quick soak method works just as well.  I drained the beans and added them back to the pot with one carrot, one celery stick, and one onion keeping the pieces very large for easy removal and making sure they are washed well.  I cooked the beans for 1 hour or until fork tender.  While the beans cooked, I chopped up one onion and cooked that in some unsalted butter.  Once the onions cooked down, I added the chopped sausage and cooked that well.  I added 1 cup of brown rice, sauteed for 5 minutes.  Once the beans have cooked, I drain them a remove the veggies and add the beans to the pot of rice.  I made chicken broth the day before with the neck bone and gizards from a whole chicken, that I roasted for dinner.  I added 3.5 cups of broth to the pot, brought it to a boil and simmered for 40-45 minutes or until done.  Now I have been  hit or miss with the brown rice and sometimes the rice is not quite done and I  let it sit off of the heat for 30 minutes to meld the flavors, but this time it cooked beautifully and was soft with the beans.  I add my own seasoning to the rice which is a homemade version of adobo seasoning.  I also experimented with my cornbread recipe again and I added savory seasoning to the cornbread and it went perfectly with the beans and rice!

Slow cooked white beans, brown rice, organic sausage and savory cornbread

I was so pleased with the way this came out! There should be scratch and sniff computer screens for this dish! Leftovers are even better because the flavors get a chance to sit and develop even more overnight.

Leave a Reply

