Canning Spicy Red Pepper Jelly

7 Nov

One thing I’ve been wanting to learn is canning.  My dad has tons of stories about his mom, my grandma, canning all types of things when he was a kid.  He grew up in the deep woods of the South, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Bassett, Virginia.   He has those stories of walking miles to school, in the snow, uphill both ways, fighting off snakes, etc…classic!  Anyway, they didn’t have electricity back then, nor indoor plumbing…which means they used an outhouse even in the dead of winter.  My grandma canned everything that could be canned.   Unfortunately, I never learned the art of canning because we had electricity and refrigerators when I was a kid, back in the 80’s.   My mother tried to learn some of the deep south cooking techniques and she made pickled peaches and strawberry jam, but canning was never necessary so she didn’t do it often.  My mom still makes pickled peaches though, but she doesn’t can them, they are stored in the fridge and are eaten very quickly by my dad and my husband!

In my desire to learn how to do everything from scratch and to store large quantities of food, canning is next on my to-do list.  I was offered the opportunity to join a MOPS group, courtesy of my friend Suzanne, when they did a canning lesson on spicy pepper jelly.  I jumped at the chance and I also was able to talk to the moms about choosing organic, buying fair trade, and how to avoid gmo’s.

Homemade Spicy Pepper Jelly

I don’t have the recipe that we used, but here is a link to another recipe for spicy pepper jelly, I haven’t tried this recipe and it is spicier than the one we made and it is paired with lamb, yum!

Here are instructions on canning pepper jelly.  We used red peppers and Jalepeno peppers when we made this.  Make sure you use fair trade cane sugar in your recipe so you know that you are supporting farmers and farm workers!

Pepper Jelly tastes really good!  I enjoyed it with organic cream cheese and organic wheat crackers…mmm!  Let me know of your experiences with canning or any funny memories from your parents!

2 Responses to “Canning Spicy Red Pepper Jelly”

  1. Suzanne November 10, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Thanks for joining us, teaching us and helping us Libby. Here is the recipe!

    The Infamous Red Pepper Jelly recipe

    4 medium fresh sweet red peppers
    4 medium fresh jalapeno peppers
    1 cup white or cider vinegar
    … 5 cups sugar
    6 ounces of liquid fruit pectin
    1 tsp red food coloring (optional)

    Seed and chop red peppers and jalapenos (wear latex gloves for the jalapenos). Put the peppers and the vinegar in a blender or food processor and process until smooth. Put the mixture in a 4-5 quart pot and stir in sugar. Cook over medium heat till boiling and then boil for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in food coloring and pectin. Return to heat and boil 1 more minute until it thickens slightly (it should coat the space between the tines of a fork put into it). Fill sterilized jars with jaelly and seal with tight-fitting lids. Store in a cool, dark place or a refrigerator. To serve it, cover softened cream cheese with jelly and serve on crackers.

Leave a Reply

