Have you ever had an Irish potato?

3 May

Irish Oatmeal Cream Pies
Irish Oatmeal Cream Pies

I love Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies, and I always have.  I haven’t had one in almost 3 years because like everything else, they are loaded up with soy.  Since I am allergic to soy, I have had to give up a lot of my favorites and I have been wanting to recreate this treat for quite some time now.

My basic oatmeal raisin cookie
My basic oatmeal raisin cookie

I used my basic oatmeal cookie recipe, sans raisins for the cookie and I made them bigger than the average cookie size. I was going to use a basic buttercream frosting for the filling, but I had 2 boxes of organic cream cheese in the fridge that I hadn’t used. Inspiration struck, and I thought, “why not make a cream cheese frosting instead?” So I improvised, and ended up creating this frosting that tasted like an irish potato.

Irish Potatoes

I grew up in the Philadelphia area, more specifically, South Jersey.  Every year around St. Patty’s Day, I would make Irish Potatoes from scratch at school and at home.  It is a traditional candy and very, very tasty.  It is made with cream cheese, coconut, butter, and confectioners sugar.  The filling is rolled into a ball and then coated with cinnamon.  It is very sweet because the recipe calls for a lot of confectioners sugar that I find hard to eat as an adult.

I didn’t have any coconut, (which may take this icing up a notch), so I used cream cheese, butter, and confectioners sugar.  Since I love the cinnamon in my cookies, I decided to add cinnamon to the frosting and when I tasted it, it was just like the Irish potato only not as sweet! I don’t like ultra sweet icing so I added enough and then had to chill the cookies to harden the filling.  My husband and I were so excited about these cookies!  They didn’t last long and the children loved them too!

Leave a Reply

